Breaking News
Home » Latest News » Kihikihi edge Manawaru in Round 1 of Interclub for 2020

Kihikihi edge Manawaru in Round 1 of Interclub for 2020

Table Tennis season is in full swing within the Waipa community at Kihikihi Table Tennis Club. Club nights are on Tuesdays from 7pm – 9pm and all players of all levels ages 13 and older are welcome to attend and join the club. Kihikihi have players travelling from Tauranga, Hamilton, Huntly, Pirongia, Otorohanga and Cambridge to be a part of this awesome club environment.

Round 1 of the interclub best of 3 series against Manawaru for 2020 commenced with Kihikihi travelling to Manwaru with their top 15 players that were available for the night. The team was up for the challenge after losing the shield in 2019.

Kihikihi top team that included newly promoted player Scott Dunn to the top table, challenged the former Waikato representative Jatinder Singh in his first game but going down narrowly 11-9, 9-11, 9-11. But the rest of the night did not go well for the top team with only Hyrum Sunnex winning 2 of his 3 matches and losing a nail biter to Armindeep Singh 11-8, 9-11, 11-8, 8-11, 9-11.

Kihikihi team of the night was Table 2 with Graham Duthie, Grant Ngatai clean sweeping all their opponents and Jared Bell only dropping one of his singles matches. Other players to have a clean sweep in all of their matches included Kyle D’Souza and Harley Cornwall.

A wonderful night between the two clubs for the start of the 2020 interclub season

Next interclub match vs Manwaru is on Tuesday 11th August 2020 @ Kihikihi. Special mention to Hyrum Sunnex and Ray Sheath as they are about to compete at the North Island Championships in Wellington for 3 days.

For any enquiries about our club, please visit our website or facebook page or contact Jared on 021 119 8310. 

Results in full: Kihikihi 34 Matamata 26

Table 1: Hyrum Sunnex, Ray Sheath, Scott Dunn lost 2-10 vs Armindeep Singh, Jatinder Singh Shane Quigley; Table 2: Graham Duthie, Jared Bell, Grant Ngatai won 11-1 vs Brian Dickey, Ted Aylett, Grant Daisley; Table 3: Kyle D’Souza, James Krippner, Rylan Bell won 8-4 vs Ragvir Singh, Heather Stringer, Murray Rolston; Table 4: Aaron Kelly, Whetu Ngaika, Zac Aylett lost 4-8 vs Vivienne Daisley, Grant Williams, Juan Chaperdig; Table 5: Harley Cornwall, Greg Mellar, Jason Kraayvanger won 9-3 vs Dawn Harvey, Sam McIntosh, Kalan Williams;

Check Also

Matamata to Strong for Kihikihi

After losing the first match of the annual series in Matamata earlier in the Month …